Not The Usual Post


Good morning everyone! Well we made it through the work week (apologies to those that have to work weekends). It has been a very trying week for me and my family and now on top of it I have this frustrating cough and had to have hip X-rays done to find out what is causing me this pain. Typically I would lead off with a Bible verse and then get into a deep element of my faith. Well, since this week has been so stressful, I thought with everything going on with my beloved Dolphins, I would write about them and the latest heartbreaking news. I don’t know how or why but writing about my favorite team brings me joy so here goes. 🙂

So until yesterday, this looked like the most promising season my Fins have had before them in YEARS. Finally we have our franchise QB, loaded at almost every skill position, and to top it all off FINALLY have a Head Coach that can lead a team partnering with a front office staff that is finally competent. Then our QB had a little misstep……

To understand how devastating this is I have to take you back to last season. Ryan Tannehill was having a career year and leading us towards our first playoff birth since I was changing my kids’ diapers (or least it seemed like it). Anyway, he was having a fantastic year despite having an offensive line that was getting him beat up all year long, receivers that always seemed to have a case of the dropsies and a defense that quite often forgot how to tackle. With ALL of that we were on a playoff run at 7-5 after starting at a miserable 1-4. Most thought another high draft pick was in order (myself included) but our new Head Coach and Tannehill took this team on their back and played lights out football. Then came Arizona….

I don’t really blame them, the hit was not illegal or ugly, but after getting beat up all year, Ryan’s ACL could take no more and as “sprained”. Another word for partially torn but whatever, he was OUT. Thankfully we do have a great backup in Matt Moore and we went full steam ahead into the playoffs but a much healthier team, the Steelers, handed us our hats and we went home. So then Ryan has a new age type procedure instead of having typical surgery. Many athletes have had this including Kobe Bryant who went on to still have a great career. Rehab went great, OTA’s, workouts, mini-camps all went great. Then training camp came, one month or so away from what could be an All-Pro year for this kid from Texas A&M. Well, until he rolled out and ran past the linebacker and hyperextended said knee….As of this writing many are blaming him for not having the traditional surgery; well, that is BS. What happened to him the other day could have happened regardless of his knee situation. Just a stroke of bad luck, nothing more. We all like to play doctor in social media, but most experts say the two injuries are unrelated. Got to feel so bad for this guy that has worked his butt off to become great only to have some really bad luck thrown his way….

With all of this I still feel like Ryan will be our QB into the next decade (barring any unforeseen health issues). Problem now that faces the Dolphins is what now? Well it seems like Jay Cutler may be coming on board. I really, really hate this idea. We have a strong locker room and Jay is known for his tearing locker rooms apart. He is also known for not playing his best when it counts. I mean with Kap and a few other quality players out there, why Culter?? Well our Head Coach has a history with this guy, in fact the last time they were on the same organization Jay had his best year by far. He also, quite frankly grew up a lot that year. He got married and had a kid which will change even the most pathetic of personalities. So, you really have to support this decision if that is indeed where Gase goes. I mean, you bring in Kap, you alienate your fan base because of reasons I just don’t have time to go into, plus in reality he really hasn’t done much in recent years just like Jay. So bringing in someone that basically already knows the playbook and can compete at a relatively high level is what we need right now. I still say give Matt Moore the job until he loses it but we need more than just him and our new Head Coach has earned my trust and so has this new front office. Until they get stupid again, I’m on board no matter what….

Well folks, that is it for now. I will be anxiously refreshing my Twitter feed this weekend to see if Miami makes a decision or not. I have been a Miami Dolphins fan my whole life; through the great times and through the bad times. This time is no different; I would say that if you are a praying person, pray for Ryan Tannehill and his family. They are great people with great character even off the field. How often can we say that today in professional sports? Let get behind this kid and this team and shock the world again….Have a great day friends and if you have liked what you have read, share my blog with others and keep the train moving!

Peace and Love,

David

2 thoughts on “Not The Usual Post

Leave a Reply

